The INA Foundation is designed to promote education and research on fossil or living nannoplankton through the accumulation, management, and distribution of charitable funds. Through our generous donors, we are able to award Student Travel Grants to partially defer the costs for students attending our INA Meetings and Workshops.

The INA Foundation also sponsors and awards the Katharina von Salis Graduate Research Fellowship to promote and facilitate research on fossil nannoplankton by the upcoming generation of nannofossil workers.


Truncata cretarhabdus toweius
Blackites truncatus from the Eocene, mid-Atlantic Coastal Plain (SEM) Cretarhabdus conicus from Albian, western North Atlantic (SEM).

Toweius pertusus from the Eocene, mid-Atlantic Coastal Plain (SEM)


Donations to the INA Foundation help us to achieve our goals to help students

The INA Foundation is a tax-exempt 501(c)3 corporation. Contributions deductible to the extent allowed by law.

Donations may be sent to:

International Nannoplankton Association Foundation, (Attn: Jean Self Trail), 13222 Loyalty Road, Leesburg, VA 20176, U.S.A.

For electronic transfers, please contact Jean Self-Trail for details.


Applications for the Katharina von Salis Graduate Research Fellowship

The International Nannoplankton Association (INA) Foundation is pleased to offer a Graduate Research Fellowship honoring Prof. Dr. Katharina von Salis (also known as Katharina Perch-Nielsen) for her many contributions to fossil nannoplankton research and to the INA. The Katharina von Salis Fellowship is intended for students actively seeking advanced degrees researching any aspect of fossil nannoplankton research.

 Applications for the 2017 grant (value $2500) closed on 1st August. The board were impressed by the calibre of the applicants and were sorry they were only able to make one award. There will be a new round in summer 2018.


Current Board of Directors for the INA Foundation

Mike Styzen, Retired, Houston, TX (Executive Director)

Jean Self-Trail, U.S. Geological Survey, Reston, VA

Richard Howe, ALS-Ellington, Perth, Western Australia

David Watkins, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE


For more information about the INA Foundation, please contact Mike Styzen.


Return to INA homepage