Organisation of the Association

At the inception of the International Nannoplankton Association, in The Netherlands in 1977, it was considered that actions were more important than structures and so an ad hoc committee was formed with different members taking on loosely defined responsibilities. As the association has grown so has the list of committee members but we survived without a formal constitution until 2002, when men took over. The present set of officers and their field of activity is informally outlined here, the bylaws explain more formally how we ought to do things. Contact adresses are given on another page.

This page was written Oct 2002, last updated March 2015.

Decision making

Generally we have a council meeting and a business meeting at each INA conference which more or less put the association in good shape for the two years or so until the next conference. Conferences are typically attended by about a quarter to a half of total membership, so we have assumed that a majority vote at these meetings is a suitable basis for decision making. We have, for instance, voted on changes of membership fee, Journal format, committee membership, and selection of venue for the next conference (on occasion the subject of splendid presentations by hopeful hosts).

President: Jeremy Young (4 year post, next changing at INA16)

The President makes sure everything is working smoothly and has overall responsibility for the running of the association, promoting its activities and developing new initiatives. It was decided in 1992, when Katharina stepped, down that in future Presidents would be elected for not much more than four years. Jeremy Young started office in Sept 2013 so should remain in office until Sept 2017.

Past Presidents: Katharina von Salis, Shirley van Heck, Woody Wise, Dave Watkins, Paul Bown

A useful post to keep our favourite colleagues active in the association. The Past Presidents have kept a benevolent and encouraging eye on developments.

Journal Editor: Jamie Shamrock

The editor receives scientific copy for the journal from the bibliographer and other contributors, arranges refereeing of research articles, edits and collates copy and sends it off to the printers (Harcourt Colour Press). Or such is the theory, in practice the editor has often had to hassle for, write and rewrite copy, sort out miscellaneous problems and often act as a default chief executive officer.

Editorial board: Richard Howe, Jackie Lees, Jeremy Young

The editorial board is a new development from 2015, to assist the editor. More specifically: Jackie Less wil act as associate editor responsible for type-setting and dealing with proofs and printer and as advisor to Jamie while she beds in; Richard Howe will be editorial assistant, dealing with external review process; Jeremy Young will assist in encouraging submissions and suggesting reviewers.

Website Editor: Jeremy Young

The website editor tries to keep the website up to date and useful. Like the other editors he keeps hoping people will send him content.

Membership Secretary: Sebastian Meier

The Membership Secretary maintains the database of members, produces address labels, is responsible for the collecting of membership dues, reminding late payers, striking off very late payers.

Treasurer: Matt Hampton

The treasurer is responsible for the INA finances inclding the bank account and PayPal account, paying bills (mainly for printing), producing annual accounts, restraining the officers from indulging in foolish expenditure, and making sure that the association remains solvent

Public Outreach Officer: Mario Cachao

The public outreach officer is responsible for developing resources to aid communication about nannofossils. [NB this post evolved from that of the bibliographer - we used to produce a comprehensive "Bibliography and Index of Calcareous Nannoplankton". Unfortunately this has become increasingly impractical as research on or involving living coccolithophores and calcareous nannofossils has expanded and diversified. Moreover literature searching gets ever easier to do via the web.]

Email Mailing List Organiser: Juan Pablo Perez Panera

The coccoliths email list was set up by Helen Gillespie to assist communication between nannoplankton workers, including many who are not members of the INA. The mailing list organiser has to make sure the list is functioning smoothly, sort out technical problems, fend off junk mail etc.

Social Media Officer: Jarrett Cruz

To try and drag INA into the modrn world a new post of Social Media Officer was created at INA14 (in 2013) and Jarrett Cruz was nobly volunteered for the post. Please support him by using the Facebook page he has set up.

Conference Convenor: Maria Traintaphylou (Univ of Athens, conference to be held in 2017) and Conference Liaison Officer: Jean Self-Trail

Conference organisation is primarily entrusted to the local convenor, howevrr, to encourage continuity of practice between conferences and to assist the convenor the Council has also now designated a Conference Liaison Officer to help things along. Abstracts are usually published as a special issue of the Journal of Nannoplankton Research, distributed to all members as a PDF via the website.

INA Foundation Director: Mike Styzen

Whilst the European founders of the INA believed in just doing good stuff for nannofossil science our American colleagues know that money is necessary to achieve anything worthwhile. The Director of the INA Foundation is responsible for finding it and the INA Foundation has established a very useful fund for suporting the educational objective of the society and particularly for sponsoring student attendance at INA conferences. The Foundation is legally separate from the INA and has a separate board of trustees (Mike Styzen, Jean Self-Trail and Richard Howe, as of March 2015).

Council Members at Large: Kyoko Hagino and Emma Sheldon - elected 2015

Was INA run by a narrow Anglo-Dutch clique? That is not the way it ever felt from the inside, but broadening the spread of committee participation was something we have long felt was important. Woody Wise greatly increased US involvement but the INA council was still far from representative of the membership, hence the new bylaws provided for these new posts. They give nannoplankton specialists who are committed to the objectives of the association but do not have the time to take on major tasks a chance to influence and guide us. The members at large have also been proactive in producing items for sale such as the INA calendars (Giuliana Villa and Ric Jordan), some beautiful nanno ornaments (Alyssa Peleo-Alampay) and the amazing coccolith in a glass cube (Ric Jordan).